THE GREATEST PHOTO NEVER TAKEN ON EARTH by E.F. Olsson {DRABBLE}

I try to participate in a lot of fun flash fiction, or drabble, challenges. My two favorite ones are on Fridays – Flash Mob Writes and more recently, Flash! Friday. Both challenge you to write a story that falls between a certain word count, usually 300-500 words. Most of the stories you read here are from those challenges. Flash! Friday has a Wednesday warm up: a 100 word story based on a photo and a challenge. The challenge this week was that a rule needed to be broken. Here is the photo (taken from Flash! Friday) and the fun story I created below. Tell me what you think in the comments below.

THE GREATEST PHOTO NEVER TAKEN ON EARTH by E.F. Olsson

THE GREATEST PHOTO NEVER TAKEN ON EARTH by E.F. Olsson

The red coat was sitting there. It was a perfect fit. I checked the pockets – five dollars and a key labeled ‘tiger’.

Edith said I wasn’t adventurous or spontaneous. I’ll show her I can be both. I told her where to stand and have the camera ready.

I found the tiger cage. Inside were two bengal tigers napping. I unlocked the cage, tip-toed towards Edith on the otherside.

“Got the camera?” I whispered.

She screamed startling the tigers awake. One stood.

“Help!” I yelled.

They ushered us out of the circus. At least I got five dollars.

Copyright © 2015 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below! If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites.

Make sure you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com. Thank you for lurking through the halls.

Leave a Reply

