A LITTLE HAND by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

Photo: Sonja O.
Photo: Sonja O.

A LITTLE HAND by E.F. Olsson

The aquarium was busy for a Tuesday afternoon. It was my first time there since the day Justin was taken from me. I’ve fought coming here for the past five years, but I felt myself drawn here for this anniversary and to the coral reef tank where I saw him last. I was trying to give him some independence when a large group passed between us and I lost him in the rush of the moment – he simply vanished.

Why did I do that? Why wasn’t I more cautious?

My reflection in the thick glass of the tank took over my attention. I was no longer standing alone. The hairs on my arm stood. A boy was beside me. He put his small, cold hand in mine. I looked down at him thinking that he must have mistook me for his parent but there was no one there – my hand was empty.

A tiny hand print appeared in the glass of the tank. In that moment, I felt a comfort I hadn’t felt since.


A SMALL HAND was my story for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer’s weekly competition. They supply the photo prompt and a story of 100-150 words (plus/minus 25 words) must been written based on it. I used the ‘plus words’ with my story coming in at 174 words.


Copyright © 2015 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below! If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites.

Make sure you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com. Thank you for lurking through the halls.

16 thoughts on “A LITTLE HAND by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

  1. I’m sorry. I was so involved reading your story I forgot to thank you for participating in FFfAW! We are happy you participated in this challenge and hope you enjoy it and continue to participate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

