BOOK REVIEW: THE GROWNUP by Gillian Flynn

BOOK REVIEW: THE GROWNUP by Gillian Flynn.I was excited to read THE GROWNUP by Gillian Flynn. And that was before I knew that she wrote Gone Girl. The story has a nice build up. It starts off with a ‘con-woman’ who switched from giving hand-jobs to acting like a fortune-teller. One day a client comes in with a problem that she believes is destroying her family. It’s the house. A ghost.

From there, like a ghost, the story fades for me. Like I said, the build up is great but it just keeps building and building. Once the story gets to the parts with the house, it speeds right through it and gets to the ending. I didn’t like that. It’s a short story but it could have been longer. You can probably read it in one night. I did and I’m not the fast of readers.

In all honesty, I was rather disappointed. I’ve read the blurb on the book before I received it, the back of the book asks: YOU LIKE GHOST STORIES? And I do. I love ghost stories and books about haunted houses. But not this one. I thought it was a major let down. Especially once I realized who Gillian Flynn was. This story needed to be apart of a collection of stories. Flynn should have strung together a few ‘ghost’ stories and packaged it that way.

Luckily for me, I was given a copy of THE GROWN UP by Gillian Flynn in exchange for an honest review. I would have been upset if I actually bought this. I’d recommend waiting to see if your library gets it, or, if it does become apart of a collection. Other than that, I’m sad to say that even as talented as Flynn is, and the writing is good, this book and the rushed story is not worth it.
One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: THE GROWNUP by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

