A Look Into 2016

Happy New Year!

Not to sound cliche, but 2015 went by fast. I intended to add a lot more of my fiction work here but kind of fizzled out in the latter part of the year. Throughout spring I was writing a lot of fiction. Once summer came around, things changed and I never found that groove again. I also have a food blog that I try and keep up. On that blog, I had almost 500,000 visitors on it in 2015. I try not to neglect that one. So when it comes to developing recipes, cooking, writing content, and everything else that involves that website, this one begins to collect dust.

2016 is going to be different.

(photo from pinterest.com)
(photo from pinterest.com)

In 2016, I intend to do more with my fiction work. I want to be a writer. I want to be a published author. 2016 is when I start to make that happen. And to make it happen, I’m waking up hours before anyone else in the house and working my novel – THE OLD WHITE HOUSE. My hope is to have the first draft done by the end of March. Three months writing everyday gives me enough time to get the novel done, which I’m hoping to be around 55,000 to 60,000 words. Plus, my third child will be born in April so it’s a good deadline to have my story done by.

April will be a good month to start a couple of short stories I had planned on writing. While I’m working on the novel, I’ll start outlining those stories. May is ‘Story A Day‘ month. I’ve been coming up with story names and basic ideas to participate in that. During the summer I hope to start my next novel. September and October I will be working on short stories. November is NaNoWriMo and December can be a month to wrap stories up or add a few more to finish out the year strong.

As you can tell, I created a production schedule to help me accomplish my goals. I used a spreadsheet to plan out the year. This schedule also helps me out daily. I wake up around 4:30 in the morning, start the coffee, write a flash story for about 20 minutes to get the creative juices flowing then take a break. Then I write for another hour to an hour-and-a-half on the novel (or until everyone starts to wake up). So far, I’ve been writing about 1,600-2,000 words in the morning. Anything throughout the day, when the two-year-old takes a nap or anything in the evening, is bonus – like this post!

Throughout the year, I also hope to do more with my weird western/paranormal series GHOST OF THE FRONTIER and an ongoing drabble series called, SITTING AT BAY. That early morning writing time before I start the novel for the day is the ideal time to work on those projects along with any blog posts for either of my websites. I also like Flash Mob Writes on Fridays which I’ve failed to participate in since the summertime. (I’ve won a couple of the challenges and finished in the top spots when I did join in!) Most of the stories I’ve shared here on the website come from prompts and challenges they supplied. I hope to start competing in that flash fiction challenge on Fridays again.

2016 looks promising for me. It’s the year I become a novelist. Hopefully by sharing my progress, production, work, and pitfalls here, I’ll stick to it.

What are your writing goals for 2016? Do you make a production schedule? Are you a part of any writing communities online that I should know about? Leave your comments below.

Thank you for stopping by and following along.

E.F. Olsson

Leave a Reply

