BOOK REVIEW: THE WOLF ROAD by Beth Lewis

BOOK REVIEW: THE WOLF ROAD by Beth Lewis. Reviewed by EFOlsson.Wordpress.com.The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis is like a modern day Western – only set in a post apocalyptic world. The story, which follows Elka as she runs from the Trapper, a man who had taught her how to survive in the world, is about how once she finds out the terrible secrets he had been hiding, she sets off without him to find her parents. But he attempts to stop her.

The story, told through Elka’s unique voice, is a cat and mouse story as she travels through bleak towns, wild lands, and meets some rough characters. At the beginning, Elka’s dialect is distracting. But as the story went on, and as I fell deeper into the story, I thought that it worked really well.

As an example, here’s an excerpt from the first paragraph: “I sat up high, oak branch ‘tween my knees, and watched the tatooed man stride about in the snow. Pictures all over his face, no skin left no more, just ink and blood. Looking for me, he was. Always looking for me.”

You get the picture – very mountainesque. I thought that it was daring for Lewis to write the story this way, and I’m glad she did. I think that it made this story stand out from all the other post apocalyptic stories out there. I know some have compared it to ‘The Road’ by Cormac McCarthy, but I think that the only comparison is that they are both set in a post apocalyptic world and that’s it. And even at that comparison, the apocalyptic world isn’t a big part of this story like it is in McCarthy’s story. The Wolf Road has more of a you’re out in the wild west feel to it – which is great for this story. It works.

The story starts out with a bang then lags a bit, but I thought that it was an otherwise good story with a solid ending. The characters stay with you – especially Elka and her unique voice. If you’re looking for a good book to read, I recommend this one.

I was given a copy of THE WOLF ROAD by Beth Lewis in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

