The TOP TEN STORIES READ of 2016

The Ghost Stories of E.F. Olsson2016 has been quite a year, hasn’t it? There have been plenty of ups and downs, especially with the amount of celebrity deaths and the controversy with the US election. On my end, it has been an amazing year – in the first few months, I completed the first draft of my novel; short thereafter, my third child was born, our first girl. With the baby and the two boys, it has been busy. My writing time has suffered a lot though. And I mean a lot. At the beginning of the year I was waking up at 4:30 AM and writing for hours before anyone woke up and my productivity showed. Now, with the baby, that writing time is gone and the work on the novel has slowed.

I tried to concentrate more on my fiction writing than my food blog writing and was able to post many short, short flash fiction stories here on the website. Thank you all for reading, commenting, and encouragement to continue on with what I love to do – write dark fiction and ghost stories. I lost most of the information on my food blog when the hosting service deleted the site, but I slowly added some of the content back once I went back online. It was very discouraging and has been a pain since that website had over 40,000 visitors a month. That kind of traffic is gone now, but I’m going to try and get it going again – between my novel writing and for story content here.

My immediate goal for 2017 is to complete that novel. I’m working on the next draft and polishing it to were I love it – and so far I do. It’s a fun ghost story that reminds me of the ghost stories of the past. I will finish it in 2017 and intend to write more short stories to submit to magazines, anthologies, and contests. ’16 was the start of my serious writing; in ’17 I’ll continue to expand what I’ve started. I already have the idea started for the next novel!

For those that love lists, and who doesn’t? Here are the top 10 stories read of 2016 along with the most popular book review of the year. It’s been fun. The majority of the stories have come from weekly writing challenge groups and photo prompts. Thank you again for being here and apart of what I’m creating. I hope to see you soon in 2017!

THE TOP TEN STORIES READ OF 2016

  1. THE HORSES
  2. DON’T CROSS THE SCARECROW
  3. IT’S NOT JUST A STORY
  4. THE DOGS
  5. WAITING FOR MY TARGET
  6. NOTHING MORE
  7. THE SEARCHING GIRL
  8. PETER IN THE PARK
  9. ONE BAD KICK
  10. A NIGHT AT THE THEATER

The top book review of the year was for my review of THE GROWNUP by Gillian Flynn.

BOOK REVIEW: THE GROWNUP by Gillian Flynn.

Be sure to let me know of what stories you have enjoyed in the comment section below. Are you a part of any weekly writing groups? Let me know. I’d love to join.

To stay up to date with what I’m doing, beside here, follow my on social media. Search for @EFOlsson. I’m on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest.

Have a great and safe New Year!

Leave a Reply

