WITH WATCHFUL EYES by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

WITH WATCHFUL EYES by E.F. OlssonThe calf watched me through the gates; his eyes were unblinkin’, wide, it was as if he were starin’ on in disbelief at what he was seein’. And I kept lookin’ at him as if he knew what I was doin’. I felt foolish, like I was the animal. Monster maybe? I was covered in mud and blood and all; sweaty and tired from draggin’ and strugglin’ to bring Jackie out there.

It’s been a stressful time – it always has, but been worse lately. Jackie looked to relieve that stress in other places – with other guys. I’d been watchin’ and waitin’ – enough’s enough. I loved her to pieces. Each and every piece. I thought of that old Lizzie Borden song as I took the axe to her as the calf watched: Lizzie Borden took an axe, gave her mother forty whacks; when she saw what she had done, she gave her father forty-one.

I wasn’t about to hurt that calf. He’s goin’ through his own stress himself being weaned from his momma and all.


WITH WATCHFUL EYES is my submission to the weekly writing challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/02/27/fffaw-challenge-week-of-february-28-2017/). This week’s photo prompt was provided by MajesticGoldenRose. Thank you! The goal: 75 to 175 word count. This stories word count: 174 words.


Copyright © 2017 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below. If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites. And while you’re on those social media sites make sure that you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com.

10 thoughts on “WITH WATCHFUL EYES by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

Leave a Reply

