THE PHANTOM NOTE OF A USED PIANO by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

A ‘B‘ cord vibrated from the piano.

The air was cold. It was dark and nearing two in the morning. I cautiously moved toward the front room – the skin of my bare feet peeled back from the cold hardwood floor with each calculated step.

I reached into the darkness for the light switch and flicked it on. In front of the piano, for a split second, was a shadow of a person and the sudden strike of another key. The phantom note echoed out as the shadow quickly vanished.

I fell back crashing against the wall, I tried to scream but just the vapor of my breath was all that escape. I slid across the wall and into the kitchen to get away; I stumbled forward stubbing my toe on the leg of the table, the pain shot through my body. I clinched a chair to save me from falling. And there is when I saw the sales receipt on the table for the piano, from the estate sale.

What. Did. I Buy. I thought.


THE PHANTOM NOTE OF A USED PIANO is my submission to the weekly writing challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/03/06/fffaw-challenge-week-of-march-07-2017/). This week’s photo prompt was provided by Mike Vore. Thank you! The goal: 75 to 175 word count. This stories word count: 175 words.


Copyright © 2017 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below. If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites. And while you’re on those social media sites make sure that you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com.

One thought on “THE PHANTOM NOTE OF A USED PIANO by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

Leave a Reply

