IT’S NOT JUST A STORY by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

IT'S NOT JUST A STORY by E.F. OlssonIT’S NOT JUST A STORY by E.F. Olsson

I told them not to rent out the house when they came to look at it a month back. But here they are now like I’d said they’d be; his old truck parked in front and loadin’ it back up. At least this one’s got a trailer hitched up. Not like the others who made trips back into that old house.

I thought about goin’ over and tellin’ him ‘I told you so’, but as I got to the fence, I saw her watchin’; a silhouette in the window. There’s nothing to her face, just blank, no features. But you can feel the stare. I stopped and went back in and clinched my rosary sayin’ a prayer.

All I know is when she wants you out, you’ll be out. Maybe next time someone’s strollin’ through interested will listen to me and save themselves a month’s rent or two–because as I tell them all, it don’t matter what time of the year it is, when this ghost comes out, you’ll be remembering my story and running.


IT’s NOT JUST A STORY is my submission to the weekly writing challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2016/10/24/fffaw-challenge-week-of-october-25-2016/). This week’s photo prompt was provided by Yinglan Z. Thank you!

This stories word count: 175 words.


Copyright © 2016 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below. If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites. And while you’re on those social media sites make sure that you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com.

10 thoughts on “IT’S NOT JUST A STORY by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.