THE HORSES by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

The Horse by E.F. OlssonTHE HORSES by E.F. Olsson

Josie was an old horse. Even with her bad hip, I still couldn’t believe that I out ran her to the car. She looked in at me with her sad glossed over eyes. The glass fogged over from her breath as she pressed her nose to it.

She snarled showing her teeth like a rabid dog and limped to the front of the car. For the first time I could see the bite marks. The flesh was torn open. Blood oozed from the gap.

She never took her eyes off of me as she lifted up her front two legs and came crashing down on the hood of the car denting it in. She jumped again smashing through the windshield. Her legs, stuck on the glass, stomped in on the dashboard.

I pressed back screaming. I was frozen with fear.

There was a blast. A gunshot. Josie screamed out. It took two more gunshots before she finally fell.

Grandpa yanked the car door open. He gripped my arm.

“Hurry! The rest are coming!”


THE HORSES is my submission to the weekly writing challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2016/08/01/fffaw-challenge-week-of-august-2-2016/). This week’s photo prompt was provided by Phylor. Thank you! This stories word count: 173 words.


Copyright © 2016 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below. If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites. And while you’re on those social media sites make sure that you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com.

9 thoughts on “THE HORSES by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.