ONE BAD KICK by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

ONE BAD KICK by E.F. Olsson.ONE BAD KICK by E.F. Olsson

There was a small part between the trees that I hadn’t realized was there until a soccer ball rolled up to the edge of the woods and I heard a footstep in the brush. The neighborhood boys were playing soccer in the field. Jimmy Carver was backing away from me. His eyes were as wide as mine as we both looked down at my hands with the blood and the shovel. Luckily the body was hidden from his view.

They must have had a half-day. I knew most of the faces and even a few of the names. They all went to the nearby middle school. Some days they would all walk past the house. I’d hear the snickers and the comments thrown my way as I sat near the window. I bought the house even though it had a reputation. And now I have to keep that reputation up.

Pinned beside my door now is the school’s schedule so this never happens again – it’s right next to the flyer for the missing Jimmy Carver.


ONE BAD KICK is my submission to the weekly writing challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/fffaw-challenge-week-of-august-9-2016/). This week’s photo prompt was provided by Yinglan. Thank you! This stories word count: 175 words.


Copyright © 2016 E.F. Olsson. All rights reserved.

Let me know what you think of this story in the comments below. If you like it, please share it with your friends on your favorite social media sites. And while you’re on those social media sites make sure that you follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

You can always get in touch with me by leaving a comment below or by email: EFOlssonAuthor@gmail.com.

2 thoughts on “ONE BAD KICK by E.F. Olsson {SHORT FLASH}

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.